Every New Sunrise

**Trigger warning*** this post contains references to suicide. Please read with caution.

One morning in February of 2013, I woke up and knew it was the last day of my life. I had finally had enough of fighting my demons; I was tired. I made my plan, wrote my note, and was all set to go.

Some inner spark of self-love and self-preservation came to the front and I decided to try again. A couple months later I was back in therapy.

In the winter of 2015 I started taking pictures of the sunrise off my back porch. I didn’t know what was motivating me at the time, but looking back I can see that that was the time I was transitioning from feeling “meh” about being alive to falling in love with it.

I’ve started taking sunrise pictures again this week, and yesterday morning I had a realization: every new sunrise is a victory. Every new day in this life I now love with a surprising ferocity is a gift.It’s a gift I’d like to share with all of you.

And please, if you’re thinking about leaving this world right now or sometime soon, please reach out again for help. Please stay with us.

One of my very first attempts at capturing a sunrise. I promise I get better.
One of my very first attempts at capturing a sunrise. I promise I get better.

Flash forward to earlier this week when I started using my actual camera:

I slept really, really badly the night before I took these:

Same story last night- shitty sleep, but gorgeous morning:

May there be many more sunrises for all of us.

3 thoughts on “Every New Sunrise

  1. Sung by a Kitlinuharmiut man to Knud Rasmussen, arctic Canada, sometime between 1921 and 1924.

    And I think over again
    My small adventures
    When from a shore wind I drifted out
    In my kayak
    And I thought I was in danger.

    My fears,
    Those small ones
    That I thought so big,
    For all the vital things
    I had to get and to reach.

    And yet, there is only
    One great thing,
    The only thing.
    To live and see in huts and on journeys
    The great day that dawns,
    And the light that fills the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

