Invisible Woman

In some ways, this one is a companion to Splinters; I wrote them back to back, but this one begged for more refining before it was ready to go.


invisible_woman

I lived my life

-if that’s what you want to call it-

In darkness.

I wore my cloak of shadows

And shrank back from any light.

I walked invisibly,

On silent feet.

My voice, seldom heard, so tiny

Child-like.

In my chest,

Deep, deep inside,

My heart banged against the walls of its cage

A wild demand for freedom.

I threw off my cloak,

Raised my voice,

And danced to its beat.

Leave a Reply

