Ode to an Old Building Redux

The original version of this poem was crap. I’m fine with that; it’s good for me to post my failures sometimes.

The biggest problem is that it didn’t express what I wanted it to. I was so caught up in trying to make it rhyme, that it didn’t have any actual feeling in it. So I’m trying again today.


An Ode to an Old Building (Redux)

A lonely sentinel between 2 cities

Touching the cemetery, you separate the living and the dead.

You stand empty now,

Your purpose long fulfilled,

A relic of a bygone age.

Progress had to come someday

And interrupt your solitary watch.

Man and machine work in concert,

Pulling you down,

Piece by piece.

You, who once stood so proudly,

Now reduced to a pile of rubble.

 

Leave a Reply

