The Drum Beat

The Drum Beat

My flames

Barely restrained

I say your name

It’s nothing but pain

This isn’t a game

And it’s insane

How we can’t explain

And we’re both to blame

My hurricane.


Last night was the second night in a row where I couldn’t fall asleep. I was very frustrated by the lack of purpose of it. I suppose I was cursing the universe, because there was no reason for me to be awake.

Almost as soon as I had the thought that if I were able to write something, that would make up for my current situation. Then some creative force responded, “Challenge Accepted” and this short verse hit my like a semi truck from without and a drum beat from within.

It was the damnedest thing. I hope it happens again (though maybe after I get a couple good nights worth of sleep).

 

Leave a Reply

